International Genetically Engineered Machine

Human Practices Committee

We know it’s not always easy to navigate the human practices issues that emerge as you’re working on your iGEM project. The Human Practices Committee is here to help!

Our Human Practices Committee members provide guidance on how to do HP in the iGEM Competition, and have agreed to be contacted by teams seeking assistance on specific elements of their human practices work.

Members of the 2019 iGEM Human Practices Committee at the Giant Jamboree.


Contact the committee via email at: humanpractices [AT] igem [DOT] org

Human Practices Committee

Note: The HP committee members are volunteer advisors and contributors to iGEM’s evolving efforts to ensure synthetic biology advances in ways that are responsible and good for the world. The policies and decisions of iGEM relating to Human Practices do not necessarily reflect the opinions of individual committee members.

Megan Palmer

Director of Human Practices

Senior Research Scholar, Center for International Security and Cooperation (CISAC), Stanford University

Todd Kuiken

Senior Research Scholar , Genetic Engineering & Society Center, North Carolina State University

Sam Weiss Evans

Lecturer, John A Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University

Joy Zhang

Associate Professor in Sociology, SSPSSR, University of Kent

Matthew Sample

Postdoctoral Researcher, Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal

Tessa Alexanian

Automation Engineer, Zymergen

Marguerite Benony

Ph.D Student in Design and Anthropology, Université Paris-Diderot, Centre de Recherche Interdisciplinaire, Paris

Hassnain Qasim Bokhari

Coordinator After iGEM, co-Editor-in-Chief iGEM Digest

Swati Carr

Digital Education Analyst, Extension Engine; PhD in synbio

Kevin Chen

CEO, Hyasynth Bio; Director, Bricobio & Helios Makerspace

JC Gray

Cofounder, Diatech Diabetic Technologies

Rahmat A. Kemal

Lecturer, Department of Medical Biology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Riau

Pim Klassen

Assistant professor Science and Technology in Society, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Zoë Robaey

Assistant Professor in Ethics of Technology; Philosophy Chairgroup, Wageningen University

Janet Standeven

Teacher, Lambert High School; Researcher, Georgia Institute of Technology, Bhamla Lab

Dorothy Zhang

After iGEM Coordinator, iGEM Foundation/University of Edinburgh

Committee Alumni

  • Jane Calvert, Science, Technology and Innovation Studies, University of Edinburgh
  • Genya Dana, Head of Precision Medicine, World Economic Forum
  • Emma Frow, Assistant Professor, School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering, Arizona State University
  • Luz Alba Gallo Herrán, Service and Experience Desginer, Ministry of ICT and Universidad de Los Andes, Bogotá-Colombia
  • Terry Johnson, Associate Teaching Professor in Bioengineering, University of California, Berkeley
  • Ellen Dias Jorgensen, Cofounder & Chief Science Officer, Aanika Biosciences; Founder & Board Member, Biotech without Borders
  • Linda Kahl, Senior Counsel and Director of Ownership, Sharing and Innovation, The BioBricks Foundation
  • David Lloyd, CEO, FREDsense Technologies
  • Kenneth Oye, Professor of Political Science and Data Systems and Society and Director of the Program on Emerging Technologies (PoET), MIT
  • Larisa Rudenko, Reasearch Affiliate, Program on Emerging Technologies (PoET), MIT
  • Tim Trevan, Co-Founder, Chrome Biorisk Management Consulting
  • Pieter van Boheemen, Researcher, Rathenau Instituut
  • Amy Weissenbach, Masters Student, History and Philosophy of Science and Medicine, University of Cambridge

Learn more

Read about iGEM's Human Practices Program:

iGEM 2020

Learn more about the Human Practices Committee's work for this year's competition: