After iGEM/Networks/Academia

After iGEM | Academia & Research

Academia and Research Network

Academic Publishing Workshops

The Academia and Research Steering Group recently concluded Academic Publishing workshop series featuring experts experience in scientific publishing. The 4 workshops provided step-by-step guidance on different phases of scientific publishing

If you couldn't attend the workshops, you can access them at the button below.

Mission and Vision

The Steering Group for the iGEM Academia and Research Network was established in 2019 and has been engaging with iGEMers, who are pursuing careers in academia. Academia and Research is one of the most common paths followed by iGEMers and we aim to help them navigate their careers as well as inform and develop the necessary transferable skills.

We strive to provide a platform for iGEMers to engage, develop a better understanding and improve their knowledge of the recent research trends in Synthetic Biology through academic-related activities.

In the Academia & Research Network, we are deep-rooted to establish the incidence of academic and research related career paths in iGEM alumni as well as identify research outputs.

Our goal is to help find and inform the community about the in-pipeline Synthetic Biology research being carried out across the globe.

You can contact our Steering Group at

Academia and Research Network in 2021

Establish a comprehensive platform to facilitate the exchange of ideas and perceptions.
Provide support for the development and curation of publication-quality work.
Trace the trends of publication of iGEM projects in view of individual team experiences by designing and conducting case studies.
Launch the Functional Nucleic Acids Registry and establish the Functional Nucleic Acids Hub.

2021 Projects

Group Members

Nemira Zilinskaite
Cambridge UK
Roger Rubio Sánchez
Cambridge, UK
Michelle Oeum
Melbourne, Australia
Anastasios Galanis
Ashwin K. Jainarayanan
Oxford, UK
Athira Shreejith
Thrissur, India
Frank Liu
Boston MA
Giulherme Kundlatsch
Kedar Bhosale
Bhopal, India
Nanxi Wang
Nanjing, China
Sourav Suresh
Hosur, India